What are 7 Chakras and Their Functions

Human life is an extremely variegated creation. One finds different kinds of human species with various natures and ideas. What’s common between all humans is the presence of chakras, which is again found in diversified ways. Chakras – these are the centers of life around which each and every human being remains stable. The literal meaning of the Sanskrit word is “wheel”. The life force circulates through these centers of energy so that harmony is maintained in the body.

There are seven chakras; each having particular roles and characteristics. Understanding the theory of chakras is very important not only for the betterment of your Yoga practice but also for boosting the level of life. Chakras give fragrance to life and redefine it in a glorious way. Here is the list of the seven pathways of energy in the human body:

Muladhara (Root Chakra)

Muladhara reminds you that you belong to this world, you are made of this soil. It tells you about the sense of belonging to this universe. Located at the base of the spine, the chakra is associated with the earth elements. The root chakra is very important for making the body stable and life balanced with hardly any influence of disturbing elements. Muladhara lets you be a part of the physical world without being an egoist and above the normal way of life. Any kind of unbalance in the root chakra can make you feel victimized, greedy, possessive, etc.

Swadhisthana (Sacral Chakra)

The energy of creation and relationship management is regulated by Swadhisthana. Located slightly below the navel and above the pubic bone, the sacral chakra is related to the feeling of connection, sexuality, internal delight, etc. People, whose sacral chakra is level-headed, are quite passionate about things in and around their life. They tend to be friendly and in jolly mood along with being a little flirty. Such people are sexually satisfied and impressive in nature. Water elements are closely related to Swadhisthana. Its presence makes one creative and flexible enough to adjust to the changing nature of the world.

Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Solar Plexus Chakra represents the central part of the body- naval. Manipura is the manifestation of one’s self-confidence. It is believed that the source of life is located in the navel. The chakra is associated with the theory of having strong will power to conquer the world. Balanced Solar Plexus denotes complete satisfaction and belief in what your actions are. If the presence of Manipura is excessive in the body, too much ambition and egoism start dominated your life. Standing by one’s own words, irrespective of the circumstance is a power you get from the navel-based chakra.

Anahata (Heart Chakra)

The heart represents feelings – love, compassion, attraction, and empathy. Anahata is based in the center of the human heart. All forms of relationships and the presence of affection between two people are maintained by the Heart chakra. If Anahata is in balance, a person enjoys good relations with people on his side. It can be said that this chakra defines one as a true human. It also gives you the strength to cope up with scarce situations in life such as bad association with your friends and family. One, whose Heart chakra is open, is forgiving in nature.

Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

Vishuddha can be called as the ministry of communication in the parliament of the human body. The chakra is responsible for enhancing the ability to communicate. Activation of this chakra promotes clearance of thoughts and audacity. Vishuddha is also known as Throat Chakra due to its location in the region. The chakra of light blue color boosts the power of diplomacy and interacting with others with immense confidence. When this chakra is open, one enjoys mastery over various forms of worldly knowledge. It is also about hearing with patience and expressing one’s views.

Ajna (Third Eye Chakra)

Located in the middle of the forehead, in between the eyebrows, Ajna Chakra is a space for spiritual wellbeing. The concept of third eye is associated with Lord Shiva, who represents intuition. When it is open, one experiences the highest levels of spiritual awakening. A person with healthy Ajna enjoys higher imaginative skills. He/she tends to analyze things in a better way. The deficiency of the third eye chakra brings uncertainty and unpredictability in the mind. For the clearance of thoughts, it is important that Ajna remains open and working.

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Sahasrara is located at the top of the body (the crown). It is associated with the idea of knowledge or wisdom as the most prominent life’s element. Connection with the divine energy is possible through the Crown Chakra and the representational color is violet. This chakra connects us directly to the universal consciousness. It is responsible for the flow of energy throughout the body along with connecting us to various other elements on the planet. When the Crown Chakra is in full swing, the world looks like one entity where we all are connected to a single thread of humanity.

Author Bio:

Manmohan Singh is a passionate Yogi, Yoga Teacher and a Traveller in India. He organizes 200 hours of yoga teacher training in Rishikesh. Manmohan Singh conducts Yoga Teacher Training in India in different cities. He loves writing and reading books related to yoga, health, nature and the Himalayas.

  1. Rishikesh Vinyasa Yoga School


    Thank you for explaining us the 7 Chakras and their functions in Human body. For meditation yoga works as a small workout with large amounts of health benefits.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *